Skip to content

Guide

App Store screenshot sizes (2026 reference)

The pixel sizes App Store Connect accepts for iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple TV, Vision Pro and Apple Watch screenshots, which are required, and Google Play's rules.

App Store Connect accepts screenshots only at a fixed list of pixel sizes per device class, and you need at least one screenshot for the required iPhone class (and for iPad 13-inch if your app runs on iPad). Upload at the largest size your app supports and App Store Connect scales it down for the smaller classes, unless you choose to upload sizes tailored to each one.

Checked against Apple's screenshot specifications on 2026-11-03. Apple changes this list when new devices ship, so check the page before you produce a new set.

The general rules

From Apple's specification page:

  • Count: at least one screenshot, and up to 10 screenshots per device size.
  • Formats: .jpeg, .jpg or .png.
  • Transparency: images can't include alpha channels or transparencies. Export a flat image with an opaque background.
  • Content: screenshots must follow the App Store Review Guidelines.
  • Colour: the specification page does not state a colour profile requirement.

Which sizes are required

Apple's page lists two required display sizes to submit an app:

  • iPhone: at least one screenshot for iPhone with Dynamic Island (medium display).
  • iPad, if your app supports iPadOS: at least one screenshot for the iPad 13-inch display.

Mac, Apple TV, Apple Vision Pro and Apple Watch screenshots are each marked "Required" for apps on that platform.

The device rows add a second statement for iPhone: the iPhone with Face ID (large display) row is marked "Required if app runs on iPhone and screenshots for iPhone with Dynamic Island (large display) aren't provided". That row adds a condition the summary at the top does not list. The safe reading is to provide both Dynamic Island classes, large and medium, at their accepted sizes.

Scaling

If your interface looks the same across device sizes and localizations, Apple says you only need screenshots for the highest required resolution, and App Store Connect scales them down for smaller sizes. Each class below names the class whose screenshots are scaled in when you provide none. You can still upload screenshots tailored to each device size and localization.

iPhone

Apple groups iPhones by display type, not by diagonal size. Each class accepts any one of its listed sizes; the page does not tie each size to a single model.

Class (Apple's label)Devices listed by ApplePortrait (px)Landscape (px)If you provide none
iPhone DuoiPhone Duo1398 × 2034 (outer display), 2007 × 2853 (inner display)2034 × 1398 (outer), 2853 × 2007 (inner)Not stated
iPhone with Dynamic Island (large display)iPhone Air, iPhone 18 Pro Max, 17 Pro Max, 16 Pro Max, 16 Plus, 15 Pro Max, 15 Plus, 14 Pro Max1260 × 2736, 1290 × 2796, 1320 × 28682736 × 1260, 2796 × 1290, 2868 × 1320Scaled from Face ID (large display)
iPhone with Face ID (large display)iPhone 14 Plus, 13 Pro Max, 12 Pro Max, 11 Pro Max, 11, XS Max, XR1284 × 2778, 1242 × 26882778 × 1284, 2688 × 1242Scaled from Dynamic Island (large display)
iPhone with Dynamic Island (medium display)iPhone 18 Pro, 17 Pro, 17, 16 Pro, 16, 15 Pro, 15, 14 Pro1179 × 2556, 1206 × 26222556 × 1179, 2622 × 1206Required (at least one, per Apple's summary); otherwise scaled from Face ID (large display)
iPhone with Face ID (medium display)iPhone 17e, 16e, 14, 13 Pro, 13, 13 mini, 12 Pro, 12, 12 mini, 11 Pro, XS, X1170 × 2532, 1125 × 2436, 1080 × 23402532 × 1170, 2436 × 1125, 2340 × 1080Scaled from Dynamic Island (medium display)
iPhone with Home Button (large display)iPhone 8 Plus, 7 Plus, 6S Plus, 6 Plus1242 × 22082208 × 1242Scaled from Face ID (medium display)
iPhone with Home Button (medium display)iPhone SE (3rd and 2nd generation), 8, 7, 6S, 6750 × 13341334 × 750Scaled from Home Button (large display)

On iPhone Duo, Apple's page says that starting in April 2027 screenshots will be required for any app using the iOS 27.1 SDK or later, and that submitting iPhone Duo screenshots shows a badge on your product page saying the app is optimized for iPhone Duo.

Apple still lists two older classes, with separate sizes with and without the status bar:

ClassPortrait (px)Landscape (px)
Home Button, 4" display (iPhone SE 1st generation, 5S, 5C, 5)640 × 1096 without status bar, 640 × 1136 with1136 × 600 without status bar, 1136 × 640 with
Home Button, 3.5" display (iPhone 4S, 4)640 × 920 without status bar, 640 × 960 with960 × 600 without status bar, 960 × 640 with

These figures are transcribed as Apple lists them, including the landscape values without status bar.

iPad

Display (Apple's label)Devices listed by ApplePortrait (px)Landscape (px)Requirement
13"iPad Pro (M5, M4), iPad Pro (6th, 5th, 4th, 3rd, 1st generation), iPad Air (M4, M3, M2)2064 × 2752, 2048 × 27322752 × 2064, 2732 × 2048Required if app runs on iPad
12.9"iPad Pro (2nd generation)2048 × 27322732 × 2048Scaled from 13" if none
11"iPad Pro (M5, M4), iPad Pro (4th to 1st generation), iPad Air (M4, M3, M2), iPad Air (5th, 4th generation), iPad (A16), iPad (10th generation), iPad mini (A17 Pro), iPad mini (6th generation)1488 × 2266, 1668 × 2420, 1668 × 2388, 1640 × 23602266 × 1488, 2420 × 1668, 2388 × 1668, 2360 × 1640Scaled from 13" if none
10.5"iPad Pro, iPad Air (3rd generation), iPad (9th, 8th, 7th generation)1668 × 22242224 × 1668Scaled from 12.9" if none
9.7"iPad Pro, iPad Air, iPad Air 2, iPad, iPad 2, iPad (6th to 3rd generation), iPad mini (5th generation), iPad mini 4, 3 and 21536 × 2008 or 768 × 1004 without status bar; 1536 × 2048 or 768 × 1024 with2048 × 1496 or 1024 × 748 without status bar; 2048 × 1536 or 1024 × 768 withScaled from 10.5" if none

In practice, one set at a 13-inch size covers every iPad class through scaling.

Mac, Apple TV, Apple Vision Pro and Apple Watch

PlatformAccepted sizes (px)Requirement
MacOne of 1280 × 800, 1440 × 900, 2560 × 1600, 2880 × 1800 (16:10 aspect ratio)Required for Mac apps
Apple TV1920 × 1080 or 3840 × 2160Required for Apple TV apps
Apple Vision Pro3840 × 2160Required for Apple Vision Pro
Apple WatchOne of 422 × 514 (Ultra 4, Ultra 3), 410 × 502 (Ultra 2, Ultra), 416 × 496 (Series 12, 11, 10), 396 × 484 (Series 9, 8, 7), 368 × 448 (Series 6, 5, 4, SE 3, SE 2, SE), 312 × 390 (Series 3, 2, 1)Required for Apple Watch apps

For Apple Watch, Apple asks you to use the same screenshot size consistently across all localizations of the app.

Google Play's listing graphics

Google Play uses ranges and ratios rather than a fixed list. Checked against Google's Add preview assets to showcase your app on 2026-11-03.

AssetRequirement
App icon (required)512 × 512 px, 32-bit PNG with alpha, up to 1024 KB
Feature graphic (required)1024 × 500 px, JPEG or 24-bit PNG without alpha
Screenshots (required)At least two across device types; JPEG or 24-bit PNG without alpha; each side between 320 px and 3840 px, and the long side no more than twice the short side; up to 8 per device type
Screenshots for recommendation formats (apps)At least four, minimum 1080 px: 16:9 landscape (at least 1920 × 1080) or 9:16 portrait (at least 1080 × 1920)
Tablets and Chromebooks"A minimum of 4 screenshots" in Google's wording; between 1,080 and 7,680 px; 16:9 landscape or 9:16 portrait
Wear OS1:1, at least 384 × 384 px; no transparent backgrounds or device frames
Android TVAt least one TV screenshot, plus a 1280 × 720 banner (JPEG or 24-bit PNG without alpha)
Android Automotive OSIf provided: at least two portrait at 800 × 1,280 px and two landscape at 1,024 × 768 px
Android XR4 to 8 screenshots, PNG or JPEG, up to 8 MB each, 8:5

Google's page gives a 3840 px maximum in the general screenshot rules and a range up to 7,680 px for large screens; it does not reconcile the two. Staying at or below 3840 px on the long side satisfies both.

Producing a set without surprises

A few habits save a rejected upload or a blurry listing:

  • Match an accepted size exactly. Apple lists exact pixel sizes, not ranges. Capture on a device or simulator in the class and check the pixel size of each file before uploading.
  • Design at the largest size and export down. Text and fine lines stay sharp when an image is reduced, not when it is enlarged.
  • Flatten before export. A PNG export can keep a transparent background, and Apple's rule is that images can't include alpha channels or transparencies.
  • Keep one orientation per set where you can. A row that switches between portrait and landscape is harder to read while swiping.
  • Write down what you uploaded and when. The date of a screenshot change is what lets you read the numbers around it later.

Example (a fictional app)

A developer ships a recipe app for iPhone and iPad, portrait only, with the same layout everywhere. They capture five screens on a large Dynamic Island iPhone simulator at 1320 × 2868 and on a medium one at 1206 × 2622, and five on a 13-inch iPad at 2064 × 2752. They export PNGs with no transparency and upload them in the English localization. App Store Connect scales them for the older iPhone and iPad classes. For a German localization, they upload the same layouts with translated captions at the same sizes.

When they later rework the first screenshot, they record the date, so the periods before and after can be compared on App Store Connect's conversion rate rather than judged by eye.

Where this shows up in Indevaro

Indevaro does not produce, resize or upload screenshots; you do that in App Store Connect or Play Console. What it can do is show App Store Connect's daily product page views and downloads, so you can look at the weeks before and after a screenshot change. It does not tell you whether the screenshots were the reason for any difference. For testing screenshots properly, the stores' own tools split traffic for you: product page optimization on the App Store and store listing experiments on Google Play. What is ASO covers how screenshots fit the rest of the listing.

See it on your own app.

Next Move reads your public App Store or Google Play listing and recent reviews, and gives you one next step with the reasons behind it.

Find my next move — free

No account needed for the first public listing review. See what it includes. Or start free.